A Big Thank You, And A Few Introductions

First and foremost, thank you so, so much to everyone who bought one of my patterns during the fundraiser for Haitian earthquake relief. I was able to send a check to Doctors Without Borders that was considerably higher than my family would have been able to send without your help, and I am very, very grateful. It was incredibly moving to me to see how the entire knitting community came together to help, and I was very proud to be a part such a community. Thanks also, from the bottom of my heart, to The Powers That Be on Ravelry, and especially to Casey and Jess, for giving designers the tags and the opportunity to raise money with our pattern there. Knitter are amazing!!

Secondly, and continuing with the Why-I-love-Casey-and-Jess theme, Ravelry’s Code Monkey Casey have made it possible for designers selling their patterns there to have their pattern store accessible by non-Ravelry members. So now, even if you aren’t a member of Ravelry, you can check out my Ravelry pattern store, look through all the designs I have currently available for download, and purchase patterns that you want. I am resisting saying that if you knit (which I assume that you must or you wouldn’t be reading my blog) you must, must, MUST be a member of Ravelry because it is truly the best thing since sliced bread. Oops! I said it, so while I’m saying it I’ll just add that while you’re there checking out my store, sign up for a free Ravelry account, because of the sliced bread thing, mentioned above. Trust me on this one. You’ll thank me. Check out my shop by clicking here.

Next up – 2 new designs released last week. I’m very excited about them both, so without further ado, may I present Daphne and Bridewell!

First up is the Daphne Hat:

Daphne photo

I love the leaf edging on this hat. When on it looks like a cloche, with a 1920’s feel to it, with the leaves framing the face. It is named after a story from Greek mythology: The god Apollo fell madly in love with a nymph named Daphne. Unfortunately for him (and due to some interference by Cupid) she did not return his affection, and ran from him into the woods. She begged the gods and her father (a minor river god) to save her from Apollo’s advances. In response they turned Daphne into a Laurel tree the moment Apollo wrapped his arms around her. Broken hearted, Apollo swore to care for the tree she had become for the rest of all time, and to always honor her by wearing a crown of Laurel leaves around his head. Legend says it is due to his care that the Bay Laurel tree never withers in winter.

I just love this story, and couldn’t resist the idea of designing a hat that mimicked Apollo’s laurel wreath. You can check it out on Ravelry here or for those of you who are already convinced:

Next up is the Bridewell Hat:

Bridewell photo

I must admit that I am really taken with the look of this hat. The pattern contains 3 sizes, from Child up to Adult Large (which should fit a woman with a big head like mine, or most men). I designed it as a first color work project, with a few friends in mind (yes, MishaMonet – this does mean you!) who were timid to try color work. This pattern uses a technique called Slip Stitch Knitting (sometimes called Mosaic Knitting) which is a way of knitting with two colors, using only one color at a time. Really. So, except for the two color braid that is at the brim, and again where the vertical stripes of the hat body divide from the circular stiripes of the crown (which the pattern explains in complete and total detail – I promise: I’ll hold you hand the entire time!), you are actually only knitting with one strand of yarn at a time. All the details are in the pattern, and it is really a very cool technique to add to your knitting toolbox! There is more information here, or:

And speaking of knitting toolboxes leave me a comment and let me know what you would like me to talk about here. I have spent so many year teaching knitting and design, often from a position of “Tell me what you want to learn next!” Do you want knitting techniques? Do you want to hear about my design process? Do you want practical things like How To Do A Garter Stitch Tab For A Shawl or Where To Find Grading Resources, or shall we examine where inspiration comes from, and the philosophy of knitting? I promise to get to every single suggestion eventually, so let me know.

I have a couple of neck warmer patterns that are due for release, hopefully within the next couple of weeks, one of which has beads (I loooove beads!), 2 sweaters on the needles, and 3 more hats almost ready to go, so stay tuned for more soon!

See, I’m blogging more often. 🙂

3 responses to “A Big Thank You, And A Few Introductions

  1. 2 sweaters?!? 😉

  2. I didn’t know you had a blog. So nice to read the story behind your designs. Now I’m going to have to try the Daphne hat too. Slowly but surely I’ll make my way through all of your fabulous designs 🙂 Keep up the good work, it keeps me busy and happy 🙂

  3. I accept your Bridewell challenge. 😉

    Like Devin, I’m excited to see your sweater patterns.

    I’d love to hear from you on the philosophy of knitting. Anything you care to share on getting started with the design process, more specifically the technical side of it, would also help me. I have ideas but other than pretty pictures in my head or on paper, I overthink far too much to get anywhere with a design process. So I’d love to hear about how you do it. Like, “A Designing Day in the Life of Nina.”

Leave a Reply

