Of New Year’s Resolutions and Haiti

OK, I’ll admit it. There are lots of things I do well – knit, teach, design, write. I am a good archivist, a good Mom, a good wife, and, I have been told, a good friend. Here is what I am not good at: driving (I don’t do it), being high up in the air (shudder), riding a two-wheeler (I never learned) and blogging. Probably another hundred things as well, but having gotten to the crux of the matter let’s stop the list right there and talk about it.

I am not sure why I am not proving to be good at this blogging thing. I’m generally good at written communication, and have many ideas for interesting posts to write, but somehow fingers never make it to keyboard, illustrative photos never get taken, and the most interesting blog posts only make it as far as a post on Ravelry or they get communicated verbally to my students and friends. My time is inhaled by knitting, designing, tackling the learning curve of Adobe Illustrator (and just when I got so happy with my charts in Excel!). And then there is also the business of life. So I am left with a long list of blog posts never written – explanations of techniques, how to wear shawls (see Kelly, I didn’t forget, even though you have figured it our for yourself by now!), designs in progress, where I get inspiration from….the list goes on for pages in my design notebook.

2009 was a great year for me design-wise, but you didn’t read about it here. So despite the amount of time designing is now asking from me I have made a New Years Resolution to blog about it all more regularly, and not just in my head. Since it is one of only 2 resolutions this year (the other to set up and use the Wii Fit Plus that my Mom and our friend Bill were nice enough to give us for Christmas and actually exercize this year!) it stands a decent chance of getting done.

So first up, instead of all those ideas waiting in the wings, is the fact that in the wake of the terrible earthquake in Haiti for the rest of this month 50% from all my pattern sales until January 31st will be donated to Doctors Without Borders to help with their relief efforts in Haiti. Those who know me already know that Haiti holds an important personal connection for me. My favorite aunt, Aunt Eva (96 and still going strong!), was, for many, many years until his death, married to the Haitian novelist Philippe Thoby-Marcelin, who wrote about Haiti and Haitians in all his books. The story of how a Sicilian woman from upstate NY and a Haitian novelist met in Washinton DC and lived their lives together is a romantic and interesting one, and one I will write more about in a project I am working on that combines my love of genealogy with knitting design, but in the mean time, aren’t they cute?

Eva and Phito photo

As neither my mother nor father had any brothers my Uncle “Phito” was the only uncle I had growing up, and his presence in my life brought with it much love and happiness. Although he lived his life after marrying here in the US he and Eva visited his family in Haiti often (and they visited here), and my Aunt took his ashes there after his death. My donation will be made in his memory, and in the hopes that we can help in some small way with the devastation being suffered through in Haiti in the wake of this disaster.

So if you are looking for a way to treat yourself and to give to Haitian earthquake relief please buy one of my patterns, or one of the many patterns that other designers are putting up to benefit Haitian earthquake relief. Knitters are amazing, and the response to this program has been incredible.

Some of my designs included in this program are:

Faberge Cowl
Faberge Cowl

Faberge Neck Warmer
Faberge Neck Warmer

Faberge Mittens
Faberge Mittens

Dean Street Mitts
Dean Street Mitts

Orvieto Hat
Orvieto Hat

Medici Hat
Medici Hat

Vita Cloche
Vita Cloche

Squib Hill Hat
Squib Hill Hat

Warwick Hat
Warwick Hat

Kettering Hat
Kettering Hat

Thanks for taking the time to stop by and read. And thanks for all the support that you have shown for my designing throughout 2009. I am very grateful. Look for some great new stuff coming in 2010. Oh yeah, and I promise to be a better blogger, so stop back again soon – I promise it won’t be a year before the next post!

Wishing you all a new year filled with love and laughter, and lots of knitting!

3 responses to “Of New Year’s Resolutions and Haiti

  1. LOVE the Warwick hat & bought it yesterday. Cast on yesterday, too and am loving the upside down approach of knitting top-down. Now that I see those mitts and the Kettering Hat, I think I need those, too. Great that some of the money goes to relief efforts in Haiti. Thank you for making it easy to do something good!

  2. Nina, you have put SUCH a big smile on my face!!! Yes, I’ve learned how to wear my shawls. 🙂 Thank you for all of your help and your willingness to share your expertise so freely and graciously to us on Ravelry.

  3. Nina, I just discovered your designs this past weekend and adore your work. I hope that you do keep your promise to blog more as I so enjoyed your January 18 entry. I can’t wait to hear about your upcoming designs.

    I want to thank you for your reply to my two inquiries about your hats. I just bought the Warwick pattern and can’t wait to buy some yarn and CO. I hope that my knitting group will adopt it as one of the patterns to use for making chemo hats to donate to the local cancer center.

    I look forward to additional blogs.

    nyllas

Leave a Reply

